Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)
2005 Plenary Session

August 30-31, 2005
Washington DC, United States

We are very grateful to the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the University of Michigan for their sponsorship of the conference.


Participants

Meeting Room

Tour

Tour of Capitol

Agenda

Tuesday August 30, 2005
Meeting Location: Hilton Washington, Monroe Room

08:00 - 9:00Introduction, by Ian McAllister
09:05 - 09:20Welcome, by Frank Scioli
09:20 - 10:15Project Updates, by Ian McAllister and David Howell
10:30 - 12:00Presentation of Module 3 stimulus paper and Module 3 draft questionnaire,
by Hermann Schmitt and Bernhard Weßels
13:30 - 15:00Research Presentations, chaired by Kenneth Scheve
15:15 - 16:45Discussion of Module 3 draft questionnaire, led by Hermann Schmitt and Bernhard Weßels
16:45 - 17:00Summary of day and action items, by Ian McAllister

Wednesday August 31, 2005
Meeting Location: Hilton Washington, Monroe Room

08:00 - 09:00Funding discussion, led by Ian McAllister
10:00 - 10:45Presentation of Macro Data Subcommittee results, by Michal Shamir
11:00 - 11:45Discussion of Macro Data, led by Michal Shamir
11:45 - 12:00Summary of day and action items, by Hans-Dieter Klingemann
13:30 - 15:00Research Presentations, chaired by Jacques Thomassen

Participants List

In alphabetical order by surname.
Contact information shown is current as of the CSES Plenary Session in August of 2005.

Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Kees Aarts
Dr.
School of Business, Public Administration and Technology,
University of Twente
P.O. Box 217, 7500 AE Enschede, The Netherlands
+31 - 53 489 3251
+31 - 53 489 4732
kees.aarts@utwente.nl
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
John Aldrich
Professor
Duke University
Department of Political Science, Box 90204, Durham, NC 27708-0204, United States
919-660-4346
919-660-4330
aldrich@duke.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Gabriel Badescu
Associate Professor
Faculty of Political and Administrative Sciences
Babes-Bolyai University, Str. G-ral Traian Mosoiu 71, 3400 Cluj-Napoca, Romania
+40 - 264 431505
+40 - 264 431505
badescu@msu.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Ulises Beltrán
Professor
Associate Professor, División de Estudios Políticos,
CIDE (Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economica)
Carretera México-Toluca 3655, Col. Lomas de Santa Fe,
México, D.F. 11850, Mexico
+525 - 211 3044
+525 - 256 0510
ulises.beltran@cide.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
André Blais
Professor
Département de Science Politique, Université de Montréal
3150, rue Jean-Brillant, bureau C-4040, C.P. 6128,
Succ. Centre-Ville, Montréal (Québec) H3C 3J7, Canada
+1 - 514 343 7349
+1 - 514 343 2360
andre.blais@umontreal.ca
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Ted Brader
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Center for Political Studies, University of Michigan
426 Thompson St., Ann Arbor, MI 48106, United States
734-936-1777
734-764-3341
tbrader@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Agustin Canzani
Prof
Equipos Consultores Associados
Blvd. Artigas No. 1098, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
5982-708-6599
5982-708-6599
acanzani@equipos.com.uy
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Yun-Han Chu
Professor
Institute of Political Science, Academia Sinica
128 Academia Road, Section 2, Nan Kang, Taipei, 115, Taiwan
+886 - 2 27899939 ext. 20
+886 - 2 27832610
yunhan@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Harold D. Clarke
Professor
School of Social Sciences, University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson, Texas 75083, United States
972-883-4891
972-883-6878
hclarke@utdallas.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Russell Dalton
Professor
Department of Political Science
5279 Social Sciences Plaza B, University of California, Irvine,
Irvine, CA 92697-5100; United States
(949) 824-6569
(949) 824-8762
rdalton@uci.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Thanassis Diamantopoulos
Professor
Panteion University of Social and Political Science, Department of International and European Studies
Syngrou Avenue 136, 176 71 Athens, Greece
+30210 9220100, +30210 9218401, +30210 9201013
+30210 9223690, +30210 9223683
thandiam@panteion.gr
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Jørgen Elklit
Professor
Department of Political Science, University of Aarhus
DK-8000 Aarhus C, Denmark
+ 45 8942 1259
+ 45 8613 98 39
elklit@ps.au.dk
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
André Freire
Assistant Professor
ISCTE, Higher Institute of Social Sciences and Business Studies; and ICS-UL, Social Sciences Research Institute, University of Lisbon
Av.ª das Forças Armadas, 1649-026 Lisboa, Portugal
+351 - 21 780 4700
+351 - 21 794 0274
andre.freire@iscte.pt
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Matt Golder
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science, Florida State University
531 Bellamy Building, Tallahassee, FL 32306, United States
850-668-2692
850-644-1367
mgolder@fsu.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Christian W. Haerpfer
Professor
Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
One Woodrow Wilson Plaza, 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue., NW, Washington, D.C. 20004-3027, United States
202-691-4063
202-691-4001
c.w.haerpfer@abdn.ac.uk
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Ólafur Þ. Harðarson
Professor
University of Iceland, Faculty of Social Science
101 Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 - 525 4514
+354 - 552 6806
othh@hi.is
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Allen Hicken
Asst. Professor
University of Michigan
Department of Political Science; 5700 Haven Hall; 505 S. State St.; Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1045, United States
734-615-9105
734-764-3522
ahicken@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Sara Binzer Hobolt
Post-Doctoral Fellow in Quantitative Methods
University of Oxford
Department of Politics and International Relations, Manor Road. Oxford, OX1 3UQ. United Kingdom
+44 1865 278707

sara.hobolt@politics.ox.ac.uk
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Sören Holmberg
Professor
Statsvetenskapliga Institutionen, Department of Political Science,
Göteborg University
P.O. Box 711, SE-405 30 Göteborg, Sweden
+46 - 31 773 1227
+46 - 31 773 4599
Soren.Holmberg@pol.gu.se
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
David A. Howell
Director of Studies
CSES Secretariat, Center for Political Studies, University of Michigan
Institute for Social Research Room 4118, 426 Thompson St.,
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2321, United States.
+1 - 734 936 1774
+1 - 734 764 3341
dahowell@isr.umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Chi Huang
Professor
Department of Political Science, National Chung Cheng University
160 San-Hsing, Ming-Hsiung, Chia-Yi 621, Taiwan
+886 - 5 272 0411 ext. 32601
+886 - 5 272 1195
polch@ccu.edu.tw
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Ken'ichi Ikeda
Professor
Department of Social Psychology, The University of Toyko
Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan
81-3-5841-3868
81-3-3815-6673
ikeken@l.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Altin Ilirjani
MR
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill/Albanian Political Science Association
361 Hamilton Hall, CB#3265, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, United States
919-360-8588

altin@unc.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Orit Kedar
Assistant Professor
University of Michigan
ISR, 426 Ann St., Ann Arbor MI, 48106, United States
734.936.2774

oritk@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Hans-Dieter Klingemann
Prof. Dr.
Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
Reichpietschufer 50, D-10785 Berlin, Germany
+49 - 30 25491 320
+49 - 30 25491 345
Klingem@wz-berlin.de
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Polina Kozyreva
Head of Department
Institute of Sociology, Russian Academy of Sciences
ul. Krzhyzhanovskogo 24/35, korp. 5, rm. 406, Moscow 117218, Russia
+011 - 7 095 125 8088
+011 - 7 095 719 0261
paulina@sovam.com
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Romain Lachat
Dr.
Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects), Institute for Political Science, University of Zurich
Seilergraben 53, CH-8001 Zurich, Switzerland
+41 - 44 634 4013
+41 - 44 634 4360
lachat@pwi.unizh.ch
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Marta Lagos
Professor
Latinobarómetro, Opinión Pública Latinoamericana
Orrego Luco 130, Providencia Santiago, Chile
+562 - 334 4544
+562 - 334 6970
mlagos@latinobarometro.org
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Karen Long Jusko

University of Michigan
48 Vandeventer Ave., Princeton NJ 08540, United States
609-430-0098

kjlong@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Arthur Lupia
Professor
Center for Political Studies, University of Michigan
ISR Room 4252, 426 Thompson St., Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2321, United States
734-647-7549
734-764-3341
lupia@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Radoslaw Markowski
Professor
Institute of Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences
ul. Polna 18/20, 00-625 Warszawa, Poland
+48 - 22 825 5221
+48 - 22 825 2146
markowski@isppan.waw.pl
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Michael Marsh
Professor
Department of Political Science, Trinity College Dublin
1 College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 - 1 608 1070
+353 - 1 677 0546
mmarsh@tcd.ie
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Ian McAllister
Professor
Director, Research School of Social Sciences
Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200, Australia
+61 (0)2 6125 2340
+61 (0)2 6125 0502
ian.mcallister@anu.edu.au
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Pippa Norris
Professor
John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
Cambridge MA 02138, United States
+1 - 617 495 1475
+1 - 617 496 2850
pippa_norris@harvard.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Keiko Ono
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science, University of Oklahoma
455 West Lindsey Street, Room 205
Norman, Oklahoma 73019-2001, United States
(405) 325-2061
(405) 325-0718
onok@ou.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Heikki Paloheimo
Professor
Department of Political Science and International Relations, University of Tampere
30014 Tampere, Finland
+358 3 3551 6412
+358 3 3551 6552
heikki.paloheimo@uta.fi
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Catalina Romero
Professor
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú
Apartado 1761, Lima 100, Peru
511 626 2000 Extension 4323
511 471 9699
jromero@pucp.edu.pe
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
David Rueda
University Lecturer and Fellow
Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Oxford
Merton College, Oxford OX1 4JD, United Kingdom
+44 - 1865 276323
+44 1865 278725
david.rueda@politics.ox.ac.uk
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Hans Schadee
Associate Professor
Dipartimento id Psicologia Ateneo Milano Bicocca
Piazza dell'Ateneo Nuovo 1 I-20126 Milano, Italy
+39 02 644486729
+39 02 64486705
hans.schadee@unimib.it
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Kenneth Scheve
Associate Professor of Public Policy
University of Michigan
412 Lorch Hall, 611 Tappan Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1220, United States
+1 734 763-5664
+1 734 763-9181
scheve@umich.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Hermann Schmitt
PD Dr.
Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES)
Universität Mannheim, D-68131 Mannheim, Germany
+49 - 621 181 2881
+49 - 621 181 2880
hermann.schmitt@mzes.uni-mannheim.de
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Frank P. Scioli
Political Science Program Director
American National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 995, Arlington, VA 22230, United States
(703) 292-8762
(703) 292-9068
fscioli@nsf.gov
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Michal Shamir
Professor
Department of Political Science, Tel Aviv University
Ramat-Aviv, Tel Aviv 69 978, Israel
+972 - 3 640 9574
+972 - 3 640 9515
m3600@post.tau.ac.il
Name:
Title:
Organization:

Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Sandeep Shastri
Professor and Dean of Research and Social Science
International Academy for Creative Teaching,
MATS University, Bangalore
52, Bellary Road, Hebbal, Bangalore 560 024, India
+91 - 80 3545246
+91 - 80 3545247
sshastri@eth.net
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:

Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
W. Phillips Shively
Professor
Political Science Department, University of Minnesota
Dept. of Political Science, 1414 Social Sciences, University of Minnesota,
Minneapolis, MN 55455, United States
(612) 624-4395
(612) 626-7599
shively@polisci.umn.edu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Marc Swyngedouw
Prof. dr.
Institute of Social and Political Opinion Research (ISPO) K.U.Leuven
Van Evenstraat 2B, 3000 Leuven, Belgium
+32-(0)16-32.31.59
+32-(0)16-32.33.65
marc.swyngedouw@soc.kuleuven.be
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Jacques Thomassen
Professor
Department of Political Science, University of Twente
P.O. Box 217, 7500 AE Enschede, The Netherlands
+31 - 53 489 3225
+31 - 53 489 4734
J.J.A.Thomassen@utwente.nl
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Jack Vowles
Professor
Department of Political Studies, University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 - 9 373 7599 ext. 88644
+64 - 9 373 7449
j.vowles@auckland.ac.nz
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Friedrich Welsch
Professor
Universidad Simon Bolivar
Apartado 61.728, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
58 212 2843305
58 212 2865906
welsch@cantv.net
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Bernhard Weßels
Prof. Dr.
Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
Reichpietschufer 50, D-10785 Berlin, Germany
+49 - 30 25491 315
+49 - 30 25491 345
wessels@wzb.eu
Name:
Title:
Organization:
Address:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-Mail:
Masahiro Yamada
Professor
Kwansei Gakuin University
1-155 Uegahara Ichibancho, Nishinomiya Hyogo JAPAN, ZIP Code 662-8501
+81-798-54-6415
+81-798-54-6415
myamada@kwansei.ac.jp