search | contact us


Monitoring Democracy Development and Electoral Behavior in Central and Eastern Europe

April 24-28, 2007
Central Archive for Empirical Social Research at the University of Cologne
Cologne, Germany

We would like to express our appreciation and thanks to the following organizations for their hosting, coordination, and sponsorship of the events:



Participants

Presentation by
Jacques Thomassen

Cologne Cathedral
(Kölner Dom)

Dinner honoring
Hans-Dieter Klingemann

Special Kölsch glasses
for the occasion

Speech by
Hans-Dieter

Abstract

The recent publication of the “European Voter” (Jacques Thomassen et al.) has underlined, that there is a flourishing co-operation and a well organised data base on democratic development and electoral behaviour on well established West European Democracies. At the same time it made obvious, that there is no equivalent for Eastern Europe in spite of data collections on the “New Democracies”, that can be found in the holdings of ZA, and some progress with participation in the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems in some countries.

While the lack of resources for high quality social research continues to be a usual issue in the Central and Eastern European region, this is sharpened by lack of co-ordination and lack of shared standards. The good practice of the ICORE Initiative, The European Voter and the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES), can be used as a basis to build the equivalent for Eastern Europe. To this end, access to the data inventories of ZA, the related data bases and examples of the questionnaires (including multilingual comparisons) would be of great help to inform a group of highly interested researchers from Central and East European Countries and to familiarise them with the international comparative electoral data base at ZA. Furthermore it would be helpful to exchange information on best practice in European comparative research including methodological, organisational and data management aspects. This would help us to adapt and implement international standards and procedures in our data collection and data documentation efforts and thus contribute to the integration of the European data base.


Tuesday April 24

14:00 - 17:00

Wednesday April 25

09:00 - 12:00

13:00 - 17:00

Thursday April 26

09:00 - 12:00

13:00 - 17:00

19:00
Special dinner to honor the contributions of Hans-Dieter Klingemann to electoral research in the region, including a keynote address at the traditional Cologne brewery “Früh am Dom”
Speakers: Jacques Thomassen, Radoslaw Markowski

Friday April 27

09:00 - 12:00
Substantive presentations using CSES data in a comparative fashion
Discussant: Radoslaw Markowski

  1. Political Parties and Democratic Consolidation in Post-Communist Societies.
    Ian McAllister and Stephen White
  2. Does Globalization Affect Public Perceptions of "Who is in Power Can Make a Difference"? Evidence from 37 Countries, 1996-2005.
    Jack Vowles
  3. Meaningful Choices, Political Supply, and Institutional Effectiveness.
    Bernhard Wessels and Hermann Schmitt

13:00 - 15:00

15:00

Saturday April 28

09:00 - 12:00
Conclusions and action items


Conference Participants List

In alphabetical order by surname.
Contact information shown is current as of April of 2007.

Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Marchella Vesselinova Abrasheva
BBSS Gallup International
1164 Sofia, 23 James Boucher Blvd., Bulgaria
m.abracheva@gallup-bbss.com
00 359 2 96 94 200/242
00 359 2 96 94 211
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Goran Čular (Cular)
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Political Science
Lepušićeva 6 (Lepusiceva 6), HR-10000 Zagreb, Croatia
gcular@fpzg.hr
+ 385 1 464 2000
+ 385 1 465 5316
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Mikolaj Czesnik
Institute of Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences
Polna 18/20, 00-625 Warsaw, Poland
mczesnik@isppan.waw.pl
48 22 8255221
48 22 8252146
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Boriana Ivanova Dimitrova
Alpha Research Ltd.
Sofia - 1000, 54, Iskar str. 2nd fl., Bulgaria
b_dimitrova@aresearch.org
+3592 986 90 75
+3592 986 90 75
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Piret Ehin
University of Tartu
Tigii 78-204, Tartu 50090, Estonia
piret.ehin@ut.ee
-
+(372) 7 375154
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Martin Fritz
ZA-EUROLAB, GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Germany
fritz@za.uni-koeln.de
+ 49-221-47694-24
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Vladas Gaidys
Institute for Social Research and Public Opinion Research Center - Vilmorus
Gedimino 1-15, LT-01103 Vilnius, Lithuania
vladas@vilmorus.lt
370-5-2690979
370-5-2690981
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Razvan Grecu
National School of Political Studies
Str. Povernei, Nr. 6-8, sector 1, 71124 Bucuresti, Romania
razvan.grecu@gmail.com
+40723631512
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Olga Gyarfasova
Institute for Public Affairs
Bastova 5, SK-811 03 Bratislava, Slovakia
olga@ivo.sk
+ 421 2 5443 40 30
+ 421 2 5443 40 41
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Brigitte Hausstein
GESIS Service Agency Eastern Europe
Central Archive for Empirical Social Research, Schiffbauerdamm 19 D-10117 Berlin
hausstein@berlin.iz-soz.de
+49 -30 23 36 11 314
+49- 30 23 36 11 330
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
David A. Howell
CSES Secretariat, University of Michigan
ISR Room 4118, 426 Thompson St., Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2321, United States
dahowell@umich.edu
734-936-1774
734-764-3341
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Janis Ikstens
University of Latvia; Faculty of Social Sciences
Lomonosova iela 1, Latvia
ikstens@latnet.lv
+371 26527141
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Wolfgang Jagodzinski
GESIS/University of Cologne
Germany
jagodzinski@za.uni-koeln.de
+ 49-221-47694-100
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Max Kaase
-
Bassermannweg 14b, 12207 Berlin
petmaka@aol.com
+49 (0) 30 7714826
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Hans-Dieter Klingemann
Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
Reichpietschufer 50, D-10785 Berlin, Germany
klingem@wz-berlin.de
+49-30-25491-320
+49-30-25491-225
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Sylvia Kritzinger
Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS), Vienna
Stumpergasse 56, A-1060 Vienna, Austria
sylvia.kritzinger@ihs.ac.at
+43-1-59991/176
+43-1-59991-171
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Lukas Linek
Institute of Sociology, Czech Academy of Sciences
Jilska 1, Prague 1, 110 00, Czech Republic
lukas.linek@soc.cas.cz
+420 603 162 291
+420 222 220 143
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Radoslaw Markowski
Polish Academy of Sciences
ul. Polna 18/20; Warszawa 00-625
radoslaw.markowski@swps.edu.pl
+48 22 - 825 5221
+48 22 - 825 2146
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Reiner Mauer
GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research, University of Cologne
Germany
mauer@za.uni-koeln.de
+ 49-221-47694-15
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Ian McAllister
The Australian National University
RSSS, ANU, ACT 0200 Australia
ian.mcallister@anu.edu.au
02 6125 5553
02 6125 3051
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Ekkehard Mochmann
GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Germany
mochmann@gesis.org
+49-221-47694-12
+49-221-47694-77
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Ingvill C. Mochmann
ZA-EUROLAB, GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Bachemer Str. 40, Cologne, Germany
ingvill.mochmann@za.uni-koeln.de
49-221-47694-65
49-221-47694-79
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Meinhard Moschner
GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Germany
moschner@za.uni-koeln.de
49-221-47694-21
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Hermann Schmitt
Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES)
Universität Mannheim, D-68131 Mannheim, Germany
hermann.schmitt@mzes.uni-mannheim.de
+49 - 621 181 2881
+49 - 621 181 2880
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Jacques Thomassen
University of Twente
Postbus 207, 7500AE Enschede, the Netherlands
J.J.A.Thomassen@Utwente.nl
+31 534893225
+31 534894734
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Bojan Todosijevic
University of Twente, Department of Political Science and Research Methods
P.O. Box 217, 7500 AE Enschede, The Netherlands
B.Todosijevic@utwente.nl
+31 53 489 3256
+31 53 489 2159
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Jack Vowles (moving to the University of Exeter in July 2007)
Department of Political Studies, University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019, Auckland, New Zealand
j.vowles@auckland.ac.nz
+64 9 373 7599 ext. 88644
+64 9 373 7449
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Oliver Watteler
GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Germany
watteler@za.uni-koeln.de
+49-221-47964-76
-
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Bernhard Wessels
Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
Reichpietschufer 50, D-10785 Berlin, Germany
wessels@wzb.eu
+49 - 30 25491 315
+49 - 30 25491 345
Name:
Organization:
Address:
E-Mail:
Telephone:
Fax:
Wolfgang Zenk-Möltgen
GESIS - Central Archive for Empirical Social Research
University of Cologne, Germany
moeltgen@za.uni-koeln.de
+49-221-47694-40